Did You Know...

Did you know? pic
Charlotte Mecklenburg PTA Council represents 109 committed local member units. Membership to the Charlotte Mecklenburg PTA Council is open to any local PTA unit in Mecklenburg County.

The PTA is a registered 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. If your school does not have a local PTA, we can help you can help start one. Just think how much family involvement will increase when you get all the resources of PTA behind you.  Visit www.pta.org to learn more about the work of America's largest child advocacy organization.


Our Mission

Our Mission Pic
Our mission at Charlotte Mecklenburg PTA Council is making every child's potential a realty. We are a powerful voice for all children. Mecklenburg PTA strives to serve as a relevant resource for families, communities and schools. Most importantly, we are a strong and dedicated advocate for the education and well-being of every child.

Officers

The Council is powered by 100% member volunteers. The 2016-17 elected officers are as follows:

Wanda O’Shea, President
President@meckpta.org
woshea@carolina.rr.com

Connie Cabs, First Vice President
Vp1@meckpta.org

Derrik Anderson, Second VP and Male Engagement
Vp2@meckpta.org

Maura Chavez, Secretary
secretary@meckpta.org

Tony Proctor, Treasurer
treasurer@meckpta.org

Cynthia Littlejohn, Auditing Committee and Hospitality Chair
hospitality@meckpta.org

Chiquitta Matthews, Advocacy Chair
advocacy@meckpta.org

Kristen Anderson, Reflections Chair
reflections@meckpta.org

Katina Gamble, Ways and Means
Kgcom324@gmail.com

Darlene Whitfield, At Large Member
dwhitfield08@gmail.com

We Need You!



All it takes is one volunteer and before you know it, there will be a group of dedicated volunteers doing what PTA does best; providing resources and programs to all families.

PTA brings the voice of millions, not just the parents from one school. Many of the benefits our children receive today such as kindergarten, school lunches and a juvenile justice system, are the result of PTA's work over its more than 117-year history.

The strength of the PTA is not limited to our massive number of members, but the fact we speak with one voice for every child.   If you desire to be a part of a mission that is committed to honoring the past and working passionately to help provide for the future of those to come, contribute your time, monies and resources to Mecklenburg PTA Council. Please contact us at president@meckpta.org to join your voice with ours to make every child’s potential a reality.

At Large Board Members, Communication Chair and committee members positons are open if you have an interest interviewing please contact president@meckpta.org or woshea@carolina.rr.com.

UPDATES

Mecklenburg PTA Dues Reminder: Nov. 15th
IRS Filing: Nov. 15th
General PTA Meeting: Nov. 28th 5pm - 8pm
Reflections Turn-In Dates:
Click HERE to see the Reflections Flier

Nov. 28th 6pm - 8pm (Heartfelt Savings - Charity)
Nov. 30th 10:30am - Noon
South Regional Library
5801 Rea Rd. Charlotte, NC 28277
Nov. 30th 6:30pm - 8pm
Sugar Creek Public Library
4045 North Tryon St. Charlotte, NC 28206